The Pumas, who earlier in the day walked away with a 47-12 win over Griquas, were the only other team at the tournament to win all three matches.

Eight matches were played on the final day of the tournament, which had made a return to the rugby landscape for the first time since 2019, and again it did not disappoint in terms of quality or of tries scored.

DHL Western Province had a strong second half effort to thank for their overall honours.

The Blue Bulls scored first before the home side replied and it was anyone’s game at the break. An intercept try by WP and a lovely rolling maul shortly afterwards eased them into a good lead. Although the Blue Bulls had the last say with a well-worked try in the final stages, they ran out of time and had to concede to their Cape opponents.

The Pumas were in rampant form against Griquas, winning 47-12 to complete a fine tournament for the Lowvelders.

FinGlobal Boland left their best effort for last after defeats on Monday and Wednesday and edged past Leopards 21-14 for their first win of the tournament. Early in the day, the DHL Western Province XV also scored a good 40-36 win over the Free State, leaving the Bloemfontein side winless at a tournament where they have a proud record.

The Sharks also finished strongest in their match against SWD to win 20-13. They held a 15-8 lead at the break in a tight affair and will thank their good defensive organisation for this win.

Eastern Province also finished the tournament in a flurry, scoring ten tries in their 66-17 win over Limpopo Blue Bulls, while Thepa Trading Motswako Griffons scored eight tries in their 48-7 win over the Valke. The Golden Lions also left the Tinkie Heyns Field with a smile after beating Border 31-23 in a very entertaining match.

Logan Muller (Eastern Province) finished the tournament as top points’ scorer (43) followed closely by Jandre Genis (42) of the DHL Western Province XV. Grant de Jager (Pumas) finished top try scorer with four touchdowns.

The Pumas won all three their matches at the 2022 tournament.

The Pumas won all three their matches at the 2022 tournament.

DHL Western Province XV 40 (26), Free State 36 (14)

WP - Tries: Sampie Joubert (2), Joe Bezuidenhout, Gino Cupido (2) Jandre Genis. Conversions: Genis (3), Christoff de Bruyn (2).

Free State - Tries: Nick Greyling (2), Casper Badenhorst, Nel van Heerden, Benito Goeda. Conversions: Bradley Giddy (4). Penalty goal: Giddy.

FinGlobal Boland 21 (10), Leopards 14 (7)

Boland  - Tries: Jeandre Overmeyer, Jovawn Visagie. Conversion: Jayden Fortuin. Penalty goals: Fortuin (3).

Leopards - Tries: Grant Coetzee, Kraynu Kruger. Conversions: Erich Snyman (2).

Pumas 47 (28), Griquas 12 (5)

Pumas  - Tries: Njabulo Shabangu (2), Francios Odendaal, Danny van Staden, Grant de Jager (2), Philasande Ntshapela. Conversions: Van Staden (2), Hardus Visser (4).

Griquas - Tries: AJ Wiese, Elridge Jack. Conversions: Juan Agenbag.

Sharks 20 (15), SWD 13 (8)

Sharks - Tries: Ethan Bester, Deano Boesak, Dwight Pietersen. Conversion: AJ Knoetze. Penalty goal: Knoetze.

SWD - Tries: Ramon Uys, Camden Schoeman. Penalty goal: JT Strydom.

Eastern Province 66 (35), Limpopo Blue Bulls 17 (7)

EP - Tries: Max du Pisani, MC Kruger, Liselihle Maphekula, Burrie van Heerden (2), Logan Muller, Luvuyo Nkomphela, Mtika Oliphant, Batho Hlekani (2). Conversions: Muller (8).

Limpopo - Tries: Johan van den Heever, Joy Ngobeni, Letlotlo Mohlala. Conversion: Tristan Brits.

Thepa Trading Motswako Griffons 48 (24), Valke 17 (0)

Griffons - Tries: Oupa Appollis, Tiaan Naude, Connie Timmie, Jayleigh Arends, Ruben Kruger, Ayanda Silwanyana, Andru Mulder, Curt Smith. Conversions: Nalei Kiewiet (2), Kruger (2).

Valke - Tries: Morne Johnson, Oregopotse Shilubane, Christopher Swart. Conversion: Jaden Bantom.

Golden Lions 31 (17), Border 23 (13)

Lions - Tries: Sifiso Magwaza, Ceano Everson, Tylor Sefoor, Joel Leotlela. Conversions: Sefoor (4), Penalty goal: Sefoor.

Border - Tries: Dewan Du Preez (2). Conversions: Kyle van Wyk, Lesego Bota. Penalty goals: Bota (3).

DHL Western Province 29 (14), Blue Bulls 21 (7)

WP - Tries: Luca Bakkes (2), Gazza Blackmore, Luke Graham. Conversions: Thurlon Williams (3). Penalty goal: Williams.

Blue Bulls - Tries: Abri van der Westhuizen, Liam Dick, Luyolo Doyi. Conversions: Tireque Apolles, Stehan Heymans (2).