Kick-off in Pretoria is at 14h00 and the match will be broadcast live on the SuperSport Grandstand and Rugby channels.

The inclusion of Smith means the incumbent Morné Steyn gets a well-deserved break with Clinton Swart providing cover off the bench. The rest of the backline remains unchanged.

Amongst the forwards, Springbok flank Arno Botha will wear the No 7 jersey, with Elrigh Louw dropping out of the match day squad.

Corniel Els starts at hooker with Joe van Zyl on the bench in a direct swap as incumbent Johan Grobbelaar is still nursing an injury.

“Due to the pandemic effecting proceedings and the match between the DHL Stormers and Cell C Sharks being cancelled, we find ourselves in a more fortunate position than expected,” said Jake White, the Vodacom Bulls’ Director of Rugby.

Arno Botha is back at flanker for the Vodacom Bulls

Arno Botha is back at flanker for the Vodacom Bulls

“Even though this is not an ideal situation for the tournament and the teams, we all understand that the safety and well-being of all involved comes first.

“We as a team want to ensure that if we are to be named champions then we want to do it the right way, with a win against a good Pumas team.”

This encounter is the first between the teams at Vodacom Super Rugby Unlocked level, with the Vodacom Bulls determined to maintain their winning streak as they secured victories in their previous three matches, including a come-from-behind win against the Emirates Lions a fortnight ago.

Vodacom Bulls: 15 David Kriel, 14 Travis Ismaiel, 13 Stedman Gans, 12 Cornal Hendricks, 11 Kurt-Lee Arendse, 10 Chris Smith, 9 Ivan van Zyl, 8 Duane Vermeulen (captain), 7 Arno Botha, 6 Marco van Staden, 5 Ruan Nortje, 4 Walt Steenkamp, 3 Trevor Nyakane, 2 Corniel Els, 1 Jacques van Rooyen. Replacements: 16 Joe van Zyl, 17 Gerhard Steenekamp, 18 Marcel van der Merwe, 19 Sintu Manjezi, 20 Nizaam Carr, 21 Embrose Papier, 22 Clinton Swart, 23 Marco Jansen van Vuren.

Match information – Vodacom Bulls v Phakisa Pumas
Date: Saturday, 21 November 2020
Time: 14h00
Venue: Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria
Referee: Aimee Barrett-Theron
Assistant Referees: Rasta Rasivhenge, Cwengile Jadezweni
Television Match Official: Marius van der Westhuizen
TV: SuperSport Grandstand and Rugby