The competition runs from 6 August to 24 September, with each of the four teams playing a total of six matches.

Following a busy schedule of men’s test matches across June and July, 12 referees will take charge of the matches within a team of 26 match officials, including assistant referees and television match officials.

Mike Adamson (Scotland), Nika Amashukeli (Georgia) and James Doleman (New Zealand) will make their competition debuts, while Mathieu Raynal (France) will referee in the Castle Lager Rugby Championship for first time since 2018.

Apart from Gardner, the Springboks will also have as referees Luke Pearce of England (New Zealand in Johannesburg on 13 August); a trio of New Zealanders in Paul Williams (against Australia in Adelaide on 27 August), Ben O’Keeffe (against Australia in Sydney on 3 September), and Doleman (against Argentina in Buenos Aires on 17 September); and Damon Murphy of Australia (against Argentina in Durban on 24 September).

The selection was made after a review of match official team performances across recent tests and represents another milestone on the road to Rugby World Cup 2023 in France. Jaco Peyper from South Africa was one of a small group of experienced referees who were given a break for this competition.

Marius van der Westhuizen has been appointed as TMO for the two matches between the Pumas and Wallabies in Argentina in the opening rounds.

World Rugby Match Officials Selection Committee Chairman Graham Mourie said: “We have a group of very committed and talented match officials who, like players, continually work on their game through a robust, team-driven 360 degree review process. As we move closer to France 2023, our focus continues to be on consistent officiating of the clear and obvious with a particular emphasis on safety, speed and space.”

All the match official appointments can be found here.