Hawies Fourie has mixed up his team for this encounter, which kicks off at 16h45 and will be broadcast live on SuperSport.

The inclusion of the experienced Potgieter – a three-cap Springbok who also played for the Vodacom Bulls, Cell C Sharks, Waratahs and Toulon and recently signed for the Free Staters – at No 8 is one of six changes to the pack.

Only Carl Wegner (lock) and Cameron Dawson (loosehead prop) retain their places in the starting team from their last match, a 39-38 victory over the Cell C Sharks.

Joining Potgieter in the back-row is Oupa Mohoje and Chris Massyn, while Victor Sekekete (lock), Aranos Coetzee (prop) and Marnus van der Merwe (hooker) are all starting.

The backline is also vastly different as only Malcolm Jaer (right wing), Reinhardt Fortuin (flyhalf) and Ruan Pienaar (captain and scrumhalf) will start again.

Rhyno Smith (fullback), Craig Barry (left wing) and Howard Mnisi (inside centre) will relish the opportunity of getting some much-needed game time for the Free Staters.

The following players are not available for selection due to injury: Charles Marais (neck), Junior Pokomela (wrist), William Small-Smith (concussion), Louis van der Westhuizen (knee), Jeandre Rudolph (calf), Brandon Thomson (back strain), Dries Swanepoel (knee) and Khutha Mchunu (neck).

UPDATE: In a late change, the Toyota Cheetahs announced that Marnus van der Merwe has been withdrawn from the game due to a hamstring injury. He will be replaced by Wilmar Arnoldi at hooker and Janus Venter will be in line to make his debut for the Free Staters off the bench.

Toyota Cheetahs: 15 Rhyno Smith, 14 Malcolm Jaer, 13 Chris Smit, 12 Howard Mnisi, 11 Craig Barry, 10 Reinhardt Fortuin, 9 Ruan Pienaar (captain), 8 Jacques Potgieter, 7 Oupa Mohoje, 6 Chris Massyn, 5 Victor Sekekete, 4 Carl Wegner, 3 Aranos Coetzee, 2 Wilmar Arnoldi, 1 Cameron Dawson. Replacements: 16 Janus Venter, 17 Schalk Ferreira, 18 Conraad van Vuuren, 19 Rynier Bernardo, 20 Aidon Davis, 21 Tian Meyer, 22 Frans Steyn, 23 Rosko Specman.