The match, at the Toyota Stadium in Bloemfontein, kicks off at 16h30 and will be broadcast live on SuperSport.

Steyn was the youngest member of the RWC squad in 2007 and kicked a crucial penalty goal in the final against England in Paris, and last year he was one of the experienced members of the squad in Japan.

The 33-year-old Steyn, who matriculated at Grey College in Bloemfontein, returned to the Free State earlier this year from Montpellier in France, where he had been playing club rugby in recent seasons.

Toyota Cheetahs coach Hawies Fourie has named another 2007 RWC winner, Ruan Pienaar, to lead his side in the first round of this exciting new competition, which starts this weekend as competitive action returns to South African rugby fields after the six-month interruption due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

“It’s great to have Frans here in Bloemfontein – I’ve played a lot of rugby with him earlier in my career and he brings a lot of experience and knowledge to our team,” said Pienaar.

“Although he’s one of the older guys in the team, he has a young heart – the players connect very well with him and it’s great to have someone of his calibre here.”

Apart from several older faces, the Free Staters also welcome back former Blitzbok hotstepper, Rosko Specman, who returned to Bloemfontein following a stint in Pretoria with the Vodacom Bulls.

Andisa Ntsila has been named to start at flank after joining the Toyota Cheetahs from the Cell C Sharks after he first made his mark for the Southern Kings. He forms an exciting loose trio with Jasper Wiese (No 8) and Junior Pokomela (flank).

Specman, Steyn, Pokomela and Luan de Bruin all featured in last weekend’s Castle Lager Springbok Showdown in Cape Town.

Toyota Cheetahs: 15 Clayton Blommetjies, 14 Malcolm Jaer, 13 Benhard Janse van Rensburg, 12 Frans Steyn, 11 Rosko Specman, 10 Tian Schoeman, 9 Ruan Pienaar (captain), 8 Jasper Wiese, 7 Junior Pokomela, 6 Andisa Ntsila, 5 Walt Steenkamp, 4 Carl Wegner, 3 Luan de Bruin, 2 Reinach Venter, 1 Charles Marais. Replacements: 16 Louis van der Westhuizen, 17 Boan Venter, 18 Erich de Jager, 19 JP du Preez, 20 Chris Massyn, 21 Aidon Davis, 22 Tian Meyer, 23 William Small-Smith.

Match information – Toyota Cheetahs v Phakisa Pumas
Date: Saturday, 10 October 2020
Time: 16h30
Venue: Toyota Stadium, Bloemfontein
Referee: Jaco Peyper
Assistant Referees: Griffin Colby, Ben Crouse
Television Match Official: Stuart Berry
TV: SuperSport Grandstand and Rugby