The award is voted for by the competition’s captains and vice-captains, with Roos – who was on Saturday named as one of eight uncapped players in the Springbok squad – coming out on top in a poll that was conducted at the end of the regular season.

“It is the ultimate honour to be recognised by your fellow players and I am humbled by this award,” said Roos.

“The Vodacom United Rugby Championship is such a high standard of rugby and there are so many talented players involved, so this award is huge for me. Thanks to every single person who has helped me along the way this season, this award is for all of them too.”

Roos, 22, adds this latest accolade to a personal haul that already includes the prizes for Vodacom Fans’ Player of the Season, Next-Gen Player of the Season and a place in the Dream Team.

This is the final award to be announced and rounds off a successful showing from the DHL Stormers, who also boast Top Try Scorer Leolin Zas and five Dream Team representatives.

Roos will be looking to cap a memorable season by lifting the inaugural Vodacom URC title when the DHL Stormers host the Vodacom Bulls in the Grand Final on Saturday.

He has had a stand-out campaign for the Cape Town outfit, proving himself a destructive ball carrier with more successful carries (126) and defenders beaten (49) than any other player in the competition over the 18 rounds of the regular season.

Roos has carried that form into the play-offs, putting on a Vodacom Man of the Match display as the DHL Stormers overcame Edinburgh Rugby in the Final Eight and scoring a try in their semi-final clash with Ulster.

Vodacom URC Awards Winner List 2021-22
Tackle Machine: Alan O’Connor (Ulster)
Turnover King: Jac Morgan (Ospreys)
Gilbert Golden Boot: Gareth Anscombe (Ospreys)
Top Try Scorer: Leolin Zas (DHL Stormers)
Ironman: Ruan Nortje (Vodacom Bulls)
Next-Gen Player of the Season: Evan Roos (DHL Stormers)
Vodacom Fans’ Player of the Season: Evan Roos (DHL Stormers)
Loch Lomond Coach of the Season: Leo Cullen (Leinster)
Players’ Player of the Season: Evan Roos (DHL Stormers)

Dream Team: 15 Warrick Gelant (DHL Stormers), 14 Seabelo Senatla (DHL Stormers), 13 James Hume (Ulster), 12 Damian Willemse (DHL Stormers), 11 Leolin Zas (DHL Stormers), 10 Ross Byrne (Leinster), 9 Craig Casey (Munster); 8 Evan Roos (DHL Stormers), 7 Nick Timoney (Ulster), 6 Marcell Coetzee (Vodacom Bulls), 5 Ruan Nortje (Vodacom Bulls), 4 Jean Kleyn (Munster), 3 Thomas du Toit (Cell C Sharks), 2 Johan Grobbelaar (Vodacom Bulls), 1 Ox Nche (Cell C Sharks).