The Toyota Cheetahs were made hard to work for their win over Tafel Lager Griquas in in Bloemfontein, and in the late match on Saturday, DHL Western Province were too strong for the Sigma Lions in Cape Town.

Thanks to their 14-point victory in the Lowveld, the Vodacom Bulls have taken the early lead on the Carling Currie Cup Premier Division log. They are on five points, the same as DHL WP, whose points’ difference is 12. The Toyota Cheetahs (4) and Sigma Lions (1) are next, while the Cell C Sharks, Tafel Lager Griquas and Pumas are still to open their account on the standings.

Three matches are scheduled for Wednesday, when the Cell C Sharks will open their campaign at home after enjoying a bye this weekend. The Durbanites face Tafel Lager Griquas in a replay of the second Carling Currie Cup semi-final from last year (17h45).

In the two other matches, the Pumas travel west on the N4 to take on the Sigma Lions in Johannesburg (15h30), while DHL WP entertain the Vodacom Bulls in Cape Town (20h00), also a repeat of one of the 2021 semi-finals.

Match information:

Sigma Lions v Pumas
Date: Wednesday, 19 January
Venue: Emirates Airline Park, Johannesburg
Kick-off: 15h30
Referee: Aimee Barrett-Theron
TV: SuperSport

Cell C Sharks v Tafel Lager Griquas
Date: Wednesday, 19 January
Venue: Hollywoodbets Kings Park, Durban
Kick-off: 17h45
Referee: Rasta Rasivhenge
TV: SuperSport

DHL Western Province v Vodacom Bulls
Date: Wednesday, 19 January
Venue: DHL Stadium, Cape Town
Kick-off: 20h00
Referee: Marius van der Westhuizen
TV: SuperSport

Davids hat-trick steers DHL WP to comfortable win

Blitzbok star Angelo Davids scored a hat-trick of tries in the DHL Western Province's 48-36 romp over a youthful Sigma Lions side on a sunny late afternoon at DHL Stadium in Cape Town to get their campaign off to a flying start.

The Capetonians scored seven tries in total while their Highveld visitors managed to dot down five times in an entertaining match played in front of an appreciative 2 000 fans.

Davids was the outstanding back of the afternoon. His positional play matched his excellent try-scoring instincts, which allowed him to bag a hat-trick of tries.


DHL Western Province 48 (29) – Tries: Adre Smith, Angelo Davids (3), Chad Solomon, Hacjivah Dayimani, Deon Fourie. Conversions: Tim Swiel (4), Chris Schreuder. Penalty goal: Swiel.

Sigma Lions 36 15) – Tries: Dameon Venter, Mark Snyman, Zeilinga Strydom, Boldwin Hansen, Darnell Osuagwu. Conversions: Vaughen Isaacs (4). Penalty goal: Isaacs.

Toyota Cheetahs made to work hard for Bloem win

The Toyota Cheetahs got their 2022 Carling Currie Cup campaign off to a winning start after they beat Tafel Lager Griquas by 30-20 (halftime 23-3) in a tough Central Derby at the Toyota Stadium in a wet Bloemfontein on Saturday afternoon.

The hosts scored three tries – the pick of them by David Brits late in the first half – but were denied a valuable bonus-point after they were made to work very hard for the win by their neighbours from the Northern Cape, who finished the game the stronger side.

The two kickers, Ruan Pienaar for the Toyota Cheetahs and Zander du Plessis for Tafel Lager Griquas, were successful with all 10 their kicks at goal in the match.


Toyota Cheetahs 30 (23) – Tries: Marnus van der Merwe, David Brits, Louis van der Westhuizen. Conversions: Ruan Pienaar (3). Penalty goals: Pienaar (3).

Tafel Lager Griquas 20 (3) – Tries: Ruan Steenkamp, Luther Obi. Conversions: Zander du Plessis (2). Penalty goals: Du Plessis (2).

Vodacom Bulls open title defence with solid win

The Vodacom Bulls scored a bonus-point 33-19 win over the Pumas in their clash played in persistent rain at the Mbombela Stadium in Nelspruit on Friday evening.

Led by former Springbok centre Cornal Hendricks, the defending champions outscored the tenacious Pumas by four tries to one as they registered a well-deserved win on the road to open their campaign in perfect fashion.


 Pumas 19 (3) – Tries: Penalty Try. Penalty goals: Tinus de Beer (4).

Vodacom Bulls 33 (11) – Tries: Embrose Papier, Ruan Nortje, Johan Grobbelaar, WJ Steenkamp. Conversions: Chris Smith (2). Penalty goals: Smith (3).