Making this achievement particularly notable, the live-wire front-rower – who left the Free State earlier this season to join French club Bordeaux – was the only player from the South African franchises named in the 15-man squad.

Three other South African-born players were also included – Pierre Schoeman, Jaco van der Walt and Duhan van der Merwe, all of whom play for Edinburgh.

Dweba’s powerful line breaks and forceful forward play not only left a target on his back for opposition teams, it also made the dreadlocked star a crowd pleaser, making it no surprise that the media and former players and coaches from all five participating Guinness PRO14 countries recognised his contribution in the orange and white jersey.

In total, seven teams were represented in the Dream Team, with losing semi-finalists Edinburgh earning six spots, while finalists Leinster and Ulster had three and two players respectively, and the Dragons, Toyota Cheetahs, Benetton Rugby and Cardiff Blues one each.

Leinster and Ulster will go head-to-head in the Guinness PRO14 final on Saturday at the Aviva Stadium in Dublin.

Guinness PRO14 Dream Team 2019/20:

1 - Pierre Schoeman (Edinburgh) 

2 - Joseph Dweba (Toyota Cheetahs) 

3 - Leon Brown (Dragons) 

4 - Scott Fardy (Leinster) 

5 - Grant Gilchrist (Edinburgh) 

6 - Max Deegan (Leinster) 

7 - Will Connors (Leinster) 

8 - Bill Mata (Edinburgh) 

9 - John Cooney (Ulster) 

10 - Jaco van der Walt (Edinburgh) 

11 - Duhan van der Merwe (Edinburgh) 

12 - Stuart McCloskey (Ulster) 

13 - Rey Lee-Lo (Cardiff Blues) 

14 - Monty Ioane (Benetton Rugby) 

15 - Blair Kinghorn (Edinburgh Rugby) 

Next-Gen Star of the Season | Caelan Doris (Leinster)

Doris played 10 times in the Guinness PRO14 this season, scoring one try and winning two Player of the Match awards. The 22-year-old also won his first Ireland cap in this season’s Guinness Six Nations. Since making his Guinness PRO14 debut in 2018 the Leinster man has established a big reputation as a rising star in the tournament and his performances have been recognised by the media vote.