The match is scheduled to kick off at 17h00 and will be broadcast live on SuperSport.

It will be Van der Westhuizen’s second Carling Currie Cup final after he also handled the whistle in 2019, when the Toyota Cheetahs beat the Sigma Lions in Bloemfontein.

Van der Westhuizen will be assisted by AJ Jacobs and Aimee Barrett-Theron on either side of the field, while Stuart Berry will serve as the Television Match Official.

“I would like to congratulate Marius, AJ, Aimee and Stuart on their appointments for Saturday’s final in Pretoria,” said SA Rugby CEO Jurie Roux.

“They have been rewarded for their consistency and efficiency throughout the season, which is a testament to their performances as match officials.”

Should the scores be tied at the end of 80 minutes, two periods of extra time will follow (10 minutes each way with a one-minute break), and if the scores are still level at the end of extra time, the team that finished the highest on the log will be declared champions.

Match information – Carling Currie Cup final:

Vodacom Bulls v Cell C Sharks
Date: Saturday, 11 September 2021
Time: 17h00
Venue: Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria
Referee: Marius van der Westhuizen
Assistant Referees: AJ Jacobs and Aimee Barrett-Theron
TMO: Stuart Berry
TV: SuperSport