Only six players from their last match – a home defeat to the Phakisa Pumas almost a fortnight ago – have retained their positions in the starting line-up, while there are two positional changes.

The six players who will start in the same positions as two weekends ago, are the midfield pairing of Harlon Klaasen and Andre Swartz, the halfbacks George Whitehead and Zak Burger, Stefan Willemse (flank) and HJ Luus (hooker).

James Verity-Amm moves from wing to fullback and Carl Els from flank to No 8. The other players in the match-23 are basically new, with Andrew Beerwinkel (prop), Adre Smith (lock), Mzwanele Zito (lock) and Gideon van der Merwe (flank) promoted from the bench.

James Verity-Amm moves from wing to fullback.

James Verity-Amm moves from wing to fullback.

The two starting props from the match against the Lowvelders, John-Roy Jenkinson and Mox Mxoli, will start on the bench on Friday, while Anthony Volmink, Daniel Kasende, Niell Jordaan, Victor Sekekete and Ian Groenewald – all of them starters in their last match – do not feature at all.

The new faces on the bench are Monde Hadebe, Johan Momsen, Ewan Coetzee, Theo Maree, Tinus de Beer, Masixole Banda, Bandisa Ndlovu, CJ Velleman and Johnathan Francke, although Mathie must still decide which eight will be the official replacements for the match.

Ndlovu, Velleman and Banda are new additions to the Peacock Blues' squad, while Volmink, Groenewald and Sekekete have all moved to other unions.

Tafel Lager Griquas: 15 James Verity-Amm, 14 Ederies Arendse, 13 Harlon Klaasen, 12 André Swarts, 11 Eduan Keyter, 10 George Whitehead (captain), 9 Zak Burger, 8 Carl Els, 7 Stefan Willemse, 6 Gideon van der Merwe, 5 Adré Smith, 4 Mzwanele Zito, 3 Ewald van der Westhuizen, 2 HJ Luus, 1 Andrew Beerwinkel. Replacements: 16 Monde Hadebe, 17 Mox Mxoli, 18 John-Roy Jenkinson, 19 Johan Momsen, 20 Ewan Coetzee, 21 Theo Maree, 22 Tinus de Beer, 23 Masixole Banda, 24 Bandisa Ndlovu, 25 CJ Velleman, 26 Johnathan Francke.

Match information – Emirates Lions vs Tafel Lager Griquas
Date: Friday, 30 October
Time: 19h00
Venue: Emirates Airline Park, Johannesburg
Referee: Marius van der Westhuizen
Assistant Referees: Aimee Barrett-Theron, Stuart Berry
Television Match Official: Jaco Peyper
TV: SuperSport Grandstand and Rugby