The weekend’s games will see the return of three Springbok squad members, Xerox Golden Lions lock Marvin Orie, DHL Western Province winger Dillyn Leyds and Vodacom Blue Bulls flanker Marco van Staden, following their release from the national squad.

The Phakisa Pumas and Vodacom Blue Bulls will go in search of their first victories of the season in Nelspruit in the only match on Friday, while Saturday’s action will see the Toyota Free State Cheetahs face Tafel Lager Griquas in Bloemfontein and DHL Western Province go up against the Xerox Golden Lions in Cape Town. The Cell C Sharks have a bye.

Match previews:

The Phakisa Pumas and Vodacom Blue Bulls will both go in search of their first victories of the season when they cross paths in Nelspruit in the opening match of the weekend in the Currie Cup Premier Division. 

The men from Pretoria have earned only one log point in the opening two rounds and the Phakisa Pumas three, and with both sides already under pressure to turn the corner to keep alive their hopes of sneaking into the top four with only four pool games remaining, the match could be gripping. 

The Vodacom Blue Bulls have won the last two matches between the sides, but the Phakisa Pumas emerged victorious in their last outing in Nelspruit. With both teams coming off encouraging attacking displays in their last two matches, they will be hoping they can make it count this week.

The Phakisa Pumas made three personnel changes to their starting team, with Francois Kleinhans (flanker) being named in a reshuffled loose trio, while Ashlon Davids (scrumhalf) and Chris Smith (flyhalf) form a new halfback pairing. 

The Vodacom Blue Bulls included Van Staden at flanker following his release from the Springbok squad, while Marnitz Boshoff has been handed the flyhalf duties in the only changes to the starting XV. 

The Toyota Free State Cheetahs and the table-topping Tafel Lager Griquas will enter their clash at the Toyota Stadium on Saturday unbeaten, paving the way for an exciting clash. The home side started their campaign on a winning note last week, and they will go up against opposition high on confidence after two bonus-point wins. 

Tafel Lager Griquas have had the upper hand between the sides in the last three matches – with one of their wins being in Bloemfontein – meaning the Toyota Free State Cheetahs will go in search of their first win against the Kimberley outfit since 2016.

Toyota Free State Cheetahs coach Franco Smith made only one change to the starting lineup for their first home game, with Darron Adonis taking over from Louis Fouche at fullback, with the latter being named among the replacements.

The Tafel Lager Griquas team showed three staff changes, with the inclusion of Johan Momsen (lock) being the only change among the forwards, while Tinus de Beer (flyhalf) and Bjorn Basson (winger) have been named in the backline, which sees captain George Whitehead switch to fullback. 

In Cape Town, the Xerox Golden Lions will face a DHL Western Province side committed to bouncing back from a narrow defeat last week, while they will want to build on their winning start to the competition. 

The Capetonians will draw inspiration from the fact that they won their last six home matches against the Jozi side, but they will also be wary of the fact that the Xerox Golden Lions scored nine points fewer in their first game than that which they have scored in both their matches up to now. They will, however, back their defence after conceding the same number of points (37) in two matches to the visitors’ one.

DHL Western Province coach John Dobson made a number of changes to his side, which features a new halfback pairing of Paul de Wet (scrumhalf) and Josh Stander (flyhalf), while Leyds starts at fullback, which sees SP Marais take over on the left wing. The changes up-front see Sikhumbuzo Notshe (No 8) and Carlu Sadie (tighthead prop) earn starts.

The Xerox Golden Lions team feature a new lock pairing of Orie and Ruben Schoeman, among the six changes to the starting side. Sti Sithole (prop) and Pieter Jansen (hooker) will pack down in a new-look front low, with Hacjivah Dayimani coming in at No 8, while the only change among the backs sees Jan-Louis la Grange starting at centre. 

Currie Cup Premier Division Round 3 fixtures:

Friday, 26 July

Phakisa Pumas v Vodacom Blue Bulls

Kick-off: 19h15

Venue: Mbombela Stadium, Nelspruit

Referee: Egon Seconds

Assistant Referees: Eduan Nel and Johra Botha

TMO: Johan Greeff


Phakisa Pumas – 15 Devon Williams, 14 Morne Joubert, 13 Ryan Nell (capt), 12 Henko Marais, 11 Etienne Taljaard, 10 Christ Smith, 9 Ashlon Davids, 8 Jeandre Rudolph, 7 Willie Engelbrecht, 6 Francois Kleinhans, 5 Stefan Willemse, 4 Le Roux Roets, 3 Marne Coetzee, 2 Marko Janse van Rensburg, 1 Andrew Beerwinkel. Replacements: 16 Simon Westraadt, 17 De-Jay Terblanche, 18 Hilton Lobberts, 19 Phumzile Maqondwana, 20 Reynier van Rooyen, 21 Kobus Marais, 22 Alwayno Visagie, 23 Morgan Naude.

Vodacom Blue Bulls – 15 Divan Rossouw, 14 Cornal Hendricks, 13 Johnny Kotze, 12 Dylan Sage, 11 Rosko Specman, 10 Marnitz Boshoff, 9 Embrose Papier, 8 Tim Agaba, 7 Marco van Staden, 6 Ruan Steenkamp (capt), 5 Ruan Nortje, 4 Andries Ferreira, 3 Wiehahn Herbst, 2 Jaco Visagie, 1 Simphiwe Matanzima. Replacements: 16 Johan Grobbelaar, 17 Dayan van der Westhuizen, 18 Conraad van Vuuren, 19 Adri Smit, 20 Wihan Vosloo, 21 Andre Warner, 22 Manie Libbok, 23 Jade Stighling.


Saturday, 27 July

Toyota Free State Cheetahs v Tafel Lager Griquas

Kick-off: 15h00

Venue: Toyota Stadium, Bloemfontein

Referee: Jaco Peyper

Assistant Referees: Stephan Geldenhuys and Eon van Zyl

TMO: JJ Wagner


Toyota Free State Cheetahs – 15 Darron Adonis, 14 William Small-Smith, 13 Benhard Janse van Rensburg, 12 Dries Swanepoel, 11 Rabz Maxwane, 10 Tian Schoeman, 9 Tian Meyer (capt), 8 Henco Venter, 7 Abongile Nonkontwana, 6 Junior Pokomela, 5 Walt Steenkamp, 4 Sintu Manjezi, 3 Aranos Coetzee, 2 Joseph Dweba, 1 Ox Nche. Replacements: 16 Jacques du Toit, 17 Charles Marais, 18 Reinach Venter, 19 JP du Preez, 20 Marnus van der Merwe, 21 Gerhard Olivier, 22 Dian Badenhorst, 23 Louis Fouche.

Tafel Lager Griquas – 15 George Whitehead (capt), 14 Ederies Arendse, 13 Eduan Keyter, 12 Andre Swarts, 11 Bjorn Basson, 10 Tinus de Beer, 9 Zak Burger, 8 Neill Jordaan, 7 Sias Koen, 6 Gideon van der Merwe, 5 Johan Momsen, 4 Ian Groenewald, 3 Ewald van der Westhuizen, 2 AJ Le Roux, 1 Khwezi Mona. Replacements: 16 Wilmar Arnoldi, 17 Mox Moxili, 18 Victor Sekekete, 19 Zandre  Jordaan, 20 Chriswill September, 21 Michal Haznar, 22 Grant Hermanus, 23 Ruan Kramer.


DHL Western Province v Xerox Golden Lions

Kick-off: 17h15

Venue: DHL Newlands, Cape Town

Referee: Stuart Berry

Assistant Referees: Marius van der Westhuizen and Cwengile Jadezweni

TMO: Shaun Veldsman


DHL Western Province – 15 Dillyn Leyds, 14 Seabelo Senatla, 13 Ruhan Nel, 12 Dan Kriel, 11 SP Marais, 10 Josh Stander, 9 Paul de Wet, 8 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 7 JD Schickerling, 6 Ernst van Rhyn, 5 Chris van Zyl (captain), 4 Salmaan Moerat, 3 Carlu Sadie, 2 Scarra Ntubeni, 1 Corne Fourie. Replacements: 16 Chad Solomon, 17 Kwenzo Blose, 18 Wilco Louw, 19 David Meihuizen, 20 Jaco Coetzee, 21 Godlen Masimla, 22 Edwill van der Merwe, 23 Sergeal Petersen.

Xerox Golden Lions – 15 Tyrone Green, 14 Madosh Tambwe, 13 Wandisile Simelane, 12 Jan-Louis la Grange, 11 Stean Pienaar; 10 Shaun Reynolds, 9 Ross Cronje (capt), 8 Hacjivah Dayimani, 7 Vincent Tshituka, 6 Marnus Schoeman, 5 Marvin Orie, 4 Ruben Schoeman, 3 Johannes Jonker, 2 Pieter Jansen, 1 Sti Sithole. Replacements: 16 PJ Botha, 17 Leo Kruger, 18 Jacobie Adriaanse, 19 Wilhelm van der Sluys, 20 James Venter, 21 Len Massyn, 22 Dillon Smit, 23 Manuel Rass.