The camp is in line with SA Rugby’s objective to ensure an effective pathway for talented young players to progress to provincial and national structures.

It is being hosted at Paarl Gimnasium and features a jam-packed programme with the players participating in a string of conditioning and skills training sessions.

SA Rugby Women’s Youth Training Centre (YTC) coaches Zolisa Naka (Border) and Ronald Maarman (Griquas) have been tasked with taking charge of the training sessions, with the assistance of former Springbok Women’s and Springbok Women’s Sevens players’ Lorinda Brown and Lamla Momoti.

Brown and Momoti entered the women’s coaching ranks at Eastern Province after several years of playing the sport, and their vast experience at the highest level could add great value to their contributions at the camp.

“The growth and development of women’s rugby is one of our top priorities, so it is important to host camps such as these where we can prepare the players for the demands at the higher levels of the game,” said SA Rugby CEO Jurie Roux. 

“This camps marks part of an important pathway for our talented young players to advance through the structures and possibly play their way into the South Africa U20 Women’s and Springbok Women’s teams in future.

“This is a big year for Women’s rugby in SA with our SA U20 Women’s team having recently returned home from a successful tour of Zimbabwe where they won both matches, while our Springbok Women’s team have a big season ahead with the 2021 Women’s Rugby World Cup Qualifiers as well as Tests against Spain and Scotland respectively coming up, and some of the players in those teams would have come though the women’s junior structures.

“For our national teams to succeed, we need to ensure that we nurture and develop our top talent at a young age, and camps such as these allow us to do so.”

The camp will conclude on Saturday.

SA Rugby U18 Girls High Performance squad: Theresa Mahlangu, Lesego Mdhluli, Cornelia Walker, Lesedi Malefo, Thandi Masuku, Kamogelo Tihaaka, Marizaan du Toit (all Blue Bulls), Alfa Mbombi, Lebogang Ralebona (both Limpopo), Lemenecia Markus (Boland), Sinelitha Noxeke (Border), Celine May, Byrhandre Dolf, Thandolwethu Hena, Sibongokuhle  Hoyi, Athanathi Daylman (all Eastern Province), Nomfundo Pampiri, Malick Camara (both Free State), Lezutha Zulu, Ayanda Ngombane, Lindokuhle Mlotshwa, Aliyah Tchogna Njamen, Mardiya Usman (all Golden Lions), Luchelle Hanekom (Griquas), Nokwanda Buthelezi, Mary Zulu, Nokubonga Mngadi, Nonhlakanipho Hadebe, Leanne de Bruyn (all KZN), Chante Cornelis, Chante Jonck, Nicole Williams, Amanda Klaasen (all SWD), Yongama Delinkosi, Awethu Stonga, Vernique Afrika, Amy Erasmus, Sidnolene Fredericks, Alichia Arries, Raylene Pieterse (all Western Province).