The visitors from Durban made good strides with a strong first half showing that allowed them to score three tries without reply, while scoring a further three in the second stanza to secure a bonus-point.

Flyhalf Murray Koster scored twice for the Cell C Sharks, while Adam Mountford, Lunga Ncube, Connor Botha and Kwanda Dimaza also crossed the whitewash. Fullback Rhyno Smith was able to add three conversions but also missed three opportunities, while Zimababwe's efforts were through replacement flanker Bisele Tshamala, who scored both their tries while flyhalf Jeremiah Jaravaza and replacement scrumhalf Hilton Mudariki each added a conversion.

The Cell C Sharks XV were on the scoreboard as early as the first minute when flanker Mountford forced his way over with Smith adding the extra two points. The lead was extended to 19 points by the midway point of the first half as Koster and lock Ncube both went over with Smith only able to convert Koster's try.

The score remained 19-0 until the half-time break, but the visitors came out blazing in the second stanza and needed just four minutes to extend their lead to 24 points as Koster doubled round to score his second of the afternoon with Smith unable to convert.

The Cell C Sharks XV were looking to take full control and open the floodgates but the men north of the border did not lay down and opened their account through Tshamala after some neat work from the Zimabaweans. Jaravaza converted well to trim the lead to 17 points but the hope of a comeback was dashed midway through the second stanza.

Replacement flank Botha and No 8 Dimaza put the game beyond doubt with tries to give the Durbanites an almost unasaiable lead of 29 points heading into the final quarter.

The Zimababweans scored a try eight minutes from time, with Tshamala going over for his second effort but the Cell C Sharks XV ran out deserved winners.


Zimbabwe Academy - Tries: Bisele Tshamala (2); Conversions: Jeremiah Jaravaza, Hilton Mudariki.

Cell C Sharks XV - Tries: Murray Koster (2), Adam Mountford, Lunga Ncube, Connor Botha, Kwanda Dimaza; Conversions: Rhyno Smith (3).