The Springbok back has earned 116 competition caps altogether, which also includes stints with the Vodacom Bulls and Toyota Cheetahs.

The side from Joburg have switched Springbok speedster Aphiwe Dyantyi back to wing from outside centre, and Hacjivah Dayimani starts this weekend at No 8 having been a backline replacement in the 42-5 home defeat to the Cell C Sharks in the previous round.

Nathan McBeth, who played for the Junior Springboks last year, will get his first start at Vodacom Super Rugby level in the Emirates Lions’ front row, next to Malcolm Marx (hooker), who will again lead out the Emirates Lions in the absence of regular skipper Warren Whiteley, and they will be hoping to add to their previous two wins over the Brumbies.

What they said:

Malcolm Marx, the Emirates Lions skipper, said his team is determined to kick off their away leg on a positive note: “We are all very disappointed with last week’s result, but we have to put that behind that and rectify our mistakes. We want to show what we’re capable of but we also know the Brumbies will be a very difficult opponent, so we have to be accurate on defence.”


Brumbies: TBA

Emirates Lions: 15 Andries Coetzee, 14 Ruan Combrinck, 13 Lionel Mapoe, 12 Franco Naude, 11 Aphiwe Dyantyi,  10 Elton Jantjies, 9 Nic Groom, 8 Hacjivah Dayimani, 7 Stephan Lewies, 6 Cyle Brink, 5 Marvin Orie, 4 Rhyno Herbst, 3 Johannes Jonker, 2 Malcolm Marx, 1 Nathan McBeth. Replacements: 16 Robbie Coetzee, 17 Sti Sithole, 18 Carlu Sadie, 19 Wilhelm van der Sluys, 20 Marnus Schoeman, 21 Ross Cronje, 22 Gianni Lombard, 23 Sylvian Mahuza.

Head to head:

Played: 11

Brumbies won: 6

Emirates Lions: 5

Brumbies points: 246

Emirates Lions: 245

Average score: 22-22


Match information:

Date: Saturday, 13 April

SA time: 11h45

Venue: GIO Stadium, Canberra

Referee: Rasta Rasivhenge

Assistant referees: Brendon Pickerill, Mike Fraser

Television Match Official: James Leckie

TV: SuperSport1