The experienced Kitshoff will line up alongside national team-mates Bongi Mbonambi and Wilco Louw in the front row, with Salmaan Moerat and Cobus Wiese forming a new lock partnership.

Ernst van Rhyn will make his DHL Stormers debut at openside flank in place of Kolisi, while Kobus van Dyk and Jaco Coetzee keep their places in the loose trio.

The only change to the backline sees Herschel Jantjies back in the starting line-up at scrumhalf, while speedster Seabelo Senatla is set to make his first appearance this season off the bench following his return from injury.

Meanwhile, Sam Talakai (prop), Robbie Abel (hooker) and Ross Haylett-Petty (lock) have all been included in the starting forward pack for the Rebels, while Richard Hardwick will return to the squad as a replacement.

What they said:

DHL Stormers head coach Robbie Fleck mentioned that his team is determined to end their tour on a high in Melbourne on Friday: “Our focus this week is on being as accurate as possible in everything that we do in order to make the most of our opportunities. The players have worked hard again this week as we look to end our tour on a high note.”

The teams:

Rebels: 15 Reece Hodge, 14 Semisi Tupou, 13 Tom English, 12 Billy Meakes, 11 Marika Koroibete, 10 Quade Cooper, 9 Will Genia, 8 Isi Naisarani, 7 Angus Cottrell, 6 Luke Jones, 5 Adam Coleman, 4 Ross Haylett-Petty, 3 Sam Talakai, 2 Robbie Abel, 1 Tetera Faulkner. Replacements: 16 Hugh Roach, 17 Matt Gibbon, 18 Jermaine Ainsley, 19 Esei Ha’angana, 20 Rob Leota, 21 Richard Hardwick, 22 Michael Ruru, 23 Campbell Magnay.

DHL Stormers: 15 Damian Willemse, 14 Sergeal Petersen, 13 Ruhan Nel, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Dillyn Leyds, 10 Jean-Luc du Plessis, 9 Herschel Jantjies, 8 Jaco Coetzee, 7 Kobus van Dyk, 6 Ernst van Rhyn (DHL Stormers debut), 5 Cobus Wiese, 4 Salmaan Moerat, 3 Wilco Louw, 2 Bongi Mbonambi, 1 Steven Kitshoff (captain). Replacements: 16 Scarra Ntubeni, 17 Corne Fourie, 18 Frans Malherbe, 19 Johan du Toit, 20 Juarno Augustus, 21 Justin Phillips, 22 Josh Stander, 23 Seabelo Senatla.

Head to head:

Played: 6

Rebels won:  1

DHL Stormers: 5

Rebels points: 118

DHL Stormers points: 209

Average score: 20-35


Match information:

Date: Friday, 12 April

SA time: 11h45

Venue: AAMI Park, Melbourne

Referee: Mike Fraser

Assistant referees: Brendon Pickerill, Rasta Rasivhenge

Television Match Official: James Leckie

TV: SuperSport1