The Women's First Division in 2022 was won by the SWD Eagirls, who beat the Leopards in the final in Potchefstroom. The competition featured eight teams split into two groups. The Leopards, Valke, Limpopo and Pumas contested one pool, while Free State, Griffons, Griquas and SWD were in the other group. The competition started on the weekend of 18 June and the two group winners qualified for the final.

The history


Griquas Women

10 Jun | Windhoek Draught Park, Kimberley


Pumas Women

SWD Eagirls

10 Jun | Outeniqua Park, George


Valke Women

Leopards Women

10 Jun | Olen Park, Potchefstroom


Limpopo Blue Bulls Women


30 Jul|Olen Park, Potchefstroom

Leopards Women

14 - 36

SWD Eagirls

23 Jul|Rosemore Stadium, George

SWD Eagirls

24 - 10

Free State Women

16 Jul|Down Touch Investments Stadium, Welkom

Griffons Women

0 - 68

SWD Eagirls


Women's Premier Division

Daisies go top as Border stun WP in Mdantsane

The Bulls Daisies moved to the top of the SA Rugby Women’s Premier Division standings for the first time after five rounds and are now the only undefeated side in the competition courtesy of a 36-8 win over Boland Dames in Pretoria on Saturday, after DHL Western Province lost in the Eastern Cape.

Women's Premier Division

All eyes on Mdantsane in round five

A repeat of the 2022 final, the return of a couple of Springbok Women’s players and must-win matches for some teams highlight the fifth round of the Women’s Premier Division, with three big encounters scheduled for Saturday.

Women's Premier Division

Top teams surge ahead in Premier Division race

DHL Western Province won big to maintain their lead at the top of the standings while the Bulls Daisies and Border Ladies claimed bonus-point victories in the fourth round of the Women’s Premier Division staged over the weekend.


Relief as Hanekom's Test dream finally comes true

She can recall the minute of the match, where the play was at on the field and the first job at hand, and she will remember that for the rest of her life. That is how Luchell Hanekom, the latest player to be capped for the Springbok Women, described her Test debut at Stade Maki in Antananarivo on Sunday, where the South Africans claimed the Rugby Africa Women's Cup by beating the host nation, Madagascar, by 79-8.


Koen: Cup victory deserving of players’ efforts

Springbok Women interim head coach Louis Koen congratulated his squad on their effort in Madagascar during the Rugby Africa Women’s Cup, where they won all three their games and lifted the trophy at Stade Maki in Antananarivo on Sunday.