Mr Davids was opposed by Mr Jerry Segwaba, the former president of the Free State Rugby Union.

Two positions on the Executive Council were also contested. Mr Jannie Louw was re-elected for a second term and Adv. Willie Small was elected as a new member for a four-year term.

The full membership of the Executive Council now comprises (in alphabetical order, elected unless stated): Mr Mark Alexander (president), Mr Francois Davids (deputy president), Mr Hennie Baartman; Ms Belia Karsten, (independent), Ms Melody Lekota (independent), Mr Jannie Louw, Ms Mary-Anne Musikewa (independent), Mr Rian Oberholzer (CEO), Ms Tryphosa Ramano (independent), Mr Abubakar Saban (CFO), Mr Randall September, Adv Willie Small, Mr John Smit (players’ association nominee), Ms Mimi Tau (independent).