The Blitzboks qualified for a fifth consecutive Emirates Dubai Sevens final on Sunday by beating Fiji 14-7 in a dramatic match at The Sevens Stadium. The win was only sealed late in the clash when Masande Mtshali added his second career try to his tally.

It was a match of very clear-cut chances as defences held sway and for the first six minutes, no-one giving an inch. The stalemate was broken by a Justin Geduld try next to the sticks which he converted to put the Blitzboks 7-0 up.

Geduld had another strong run but was tackled short on the buzzer.

Fiji struck back early in the second half when Pilipo Bukayaro was at the end of a typical, flowing attack, with his burst of speed taking him past two Blitzbok defenders. That left it all to play for with four minutes to go.

South Africa's winning try came from a good hack ahead by Rosko Specman and when the sole Fijian defender tracking back lost possession, Mtshali was quick to pounce and score. Dewald Human converted and the road to the final was cleared.

Earlier, the Blitzboks scored four tries in their quarter-final win by 24-7 over Australia. South Africa held a 12-7 lead a the break.

Quewin Nortje opened the scoring for his side after three minutes and when Zain Davids crashed over a minute later, the SA side looked set for yet another Sunday clean sheet. Nathan Lawson pulled one back for the Aussies though, exploiting the numbers in the Blitzbok defence, who missed Geduld due to a yellow card.

Specman raced away in the second half to reopen the lead and when Ronald Brown blitzed around the corner for a try in the last minute, the win was confirmed.

Fiji beat Ireland in their Cup quarter-final, while New Zealand, who beat USA, faced Argentina, who overcame Samoa in the top-eight.


Quarter-final: South Africa 24 (12), Australia 7 (7)
SA - Tries: Quewin Nortje, Zain Davids, Rosko Specman, Ronald Brown. Conversions: Justin Geduld, Dewald Human.
Aus - Try: Nathan Lawson, Conversion: Maurice Longbottom.

Semi-final: South Africa 14 (7), Fiji 7 (0)
SA - Tries: Justin Geduld, Masande Mtshali. Conversions: Justin Geduld, Ronald Brown.
Fiji - Try: Pilipo Bukayaro. Conversion: Terio Tamani.