Three of the changes are injury-enforced and the other four are rotational for the third round clash, which kicks off at 19h00 on Friday.

Injuries to Seabelo Senatla, Ruhan Nel and Juarno Augustus see Tristan Leyds, Michal Haznar and Jaco Coetzee make their first starts in the blue and white hoops of DHL Western Province this season.

Leyds is on the wing, while Haznar will link up in midfield with Rikus Pretorius who is back in the starting line-up. Paul de Wet starts at scrumhalf in the other change to the backline.

Jaco Coetzee

Jaco Coetzee

In the forward pack Coetzee is at No 8, while the other two changes see David Meihuizen (lock) and Scarra Ntubeni (hooker) come into the starting XV.

Dobson said that his team are looking forward to playing at DHL Newlands again on Friday evening.

"It is a short week for us and we can't wait to get out there at DHL Newlands and put together an 80-minute performance," said Dobson.

"We are looking forward to seeing what the players coming in can add as we target an accurate display on Friday."

DHL Western Province: 15 Damian Willemse, 14 Angelo Davids, 13 Michal Haznar, 12 Rikus Pretorius, 11 Tristan Leyds, 10 Tim Swiel, 9 Paul de Wet, 8 Jaco Coetzee, 7 Ernst van Rhyn, 6 Siya Kolisi (captain), 5 David Meihuizen, 4 Salmaan Moerat, 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Scarra Ntubeni, 1 Steven Kitshoff. Replacements (from): 16 Bongi Mbonambi, 17 Ali Vermaak, 18 Lee-Marvin Mazibuko, 19 Chris van Zyl, 20 Johan du Toit, 21 Herschel Jantjies, 22 Kade Wolhuter, 23 Dan du Plessis, 24 Kwenzo Blose, 25 Marcel Theunissen, 26 Sihle Njezula.

Match information – DHL Western Province v Phakisa Pumas
Date: Friday, 11 December 2020
Time: 19h00
Venue: DHL Newlands, Cape Town
Referee: Paul Mente
Assistant Referees: Aimee Barrett-Theron and Egon Seconds
TMO: Joey Klaaste-Salmans
TV: SuperSport Grandstand and Rugby