The match, which kicks off at 19h00, will mark both teams’ first encounter following a six-month absence from rugby due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Jantjies will be joined by four Springboks, Ruan Dreyer (prop), Marvin Orie (lock), Jaco Kriel (flank) and Courtnall Skosan (wing), who have all been named in the starting line-up, while several former World Rugby U20 Championship players have been included in the squad of 30 players, including Wandisile Simelane (centre), Carlu Sadie (prop), Jan-Henning Campher (hooker) and Gianni Lombard (fullback).

A number of players will make their first appearance for the Emirates Lions after moving to the Johannesburg-based franchise, namely Rabz Maxwane (winger), Divan Rossouw (fullback), Jaco Visagie (hooker), Burger Odendaal (centre), and EW Viljoen (utility back).

Hacjivah Dayimani (left) during an Emirates Lions training session.

Hacjivah Dayimani (left) during an Emirates Lions training session.


Emirates Lions: 15 Divan Rossouw, 14 Rabz Maxwane, 13 Wandisile Simelane, 12 Burger Odendaal, 11 Courtnall Skosan, 10 Elton Jantjies (captain), 9 Andre Warner, 8 Hacjivah Dayimani, 7 Vincent Tshituka, 6 Jaco Kriel, 5 Marvin Orie, 4 Ruben Schoeman, 3 Ruan Dreyer, 2 Jaco Visagie, 1 Dylan Smith. Replacements (from): Sti Sithole, Jan-Henning Campher, Carlu Sadie, Wilhelm van der Sluys, Reinhard Nothnagel, MJ Pelser, Francke Horn, Len Massyn, Dillon Smit, Gianni Lombard, Stean Pienaar, Daniel Kriel, Manuel Rass, Jamba Ulengo, EW Viljoen.


Match details:

Date: Saturday, 26 September 2020

Venue: Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria

Kick-off time: 19h00

Referee: Marius van der Westhuizen

Assistant referees: Aimee Barrett-Theron, Morne Ferreira

TMO: Willie Vos

TV: Live on SuperSport Grandstand