Included in the Emirates Lions travelling squad were number of new faces, including the experienced former Springbok prop Jannie du Plessis, who is set to make his first Vodacom Super Rugby appearance since 2015.

The Jaguares are loaded with Test players, who helped the Argentinean team to their first Vodacom Super Rugby final in 2019. The visitors from Johannesburg finished in ninth place in the overall standings last year.

The Emirates Lions won five of their last six Vodacom Super Rugby games against the Jaguares, including their last three on the bounce. However, the Jaguares have won their last six home games in succession, conceding an average of just 13 points per game across that span.

Meanwhile, the visitors will be hoping to continue their streak of winning their previous four opening weekend matches.

What they said:

Elton Jantjies, Emirates Lions captain, said: “The Jaguares are a formidable team at home and they will be determined to repeat last year’s great form. We have an exciting, new-look team that will be eager to show what we can do.”

Santiago Medrano, Pumas and Jaguares prop, said: “We saw the friendly they played against the Vodacom Bulls and we know all about the Emirates Lions’ scrum. They have a very heavy and strong pack – it will be a very physical game.”

The teams:

Emirates Lions travelling squad: Hacjivah Dayimani, Jannie du Plessis, Jan-Henning Campher, Pieter Jansen, Len Massyn, Marvin Orie, Carlu Sadie, Marnus Schoeman, Ruben Schoeman, Sti Sithole, Dylan Smith, Vincent Tshituka, Wilhelm van der Sluys, Frans van Wyk, Ruan Vermaak, Tyrone Green, Elton Jantjies (captain), Dan Kriel, Duncan Matthews, Manuel Rass, Shaun Reynolds, Courtnall Skosan, Tiaan Swanepoel, Morne van den Berg, Andre Warner.

Jaguares: TBA

Head to Head:

Played: 9

Jaguares won: 3

Emirates Lions won: 6

Jagaures points: 269

Emirates Lions points: 316

Average score: 30-35

Match information:

Date: Sunday, 2 February

Venue: Jose Amalfitani Stadium, Buenos Aires

SA time: 01h00

Referee: Rasta Rasivhenge

Assistant referees: Pablo Deluca, Martin Cordoba

TMO:  Santiago Borsani