Du Toit, the World Rugby Player of the Year for 2019, was named DHL Forward of the Year, while fellow RWC winner Jantjies claimed the DHL Back of the Year award and the coveted DHL Players' Player of the Year, with Leyds named Most Valuable Player.

All three players featured prominently for the DHL Stormers this year in Vodacom Super Rugby, with Bok loose forward Du Toit going on to be recognised as the best player in the world and Jantjies nominated for the World Rugby Breakthrough Player of the Year, having made a huge impression in his first season after making both his DHL Stormers and Springbok debut in 2019.

Utility back Leyds clinched his reward for his consistently good performances in the Vodacom Super Rugby campaign and for the DHL Western Province in their Currie Cup season.  

Former DHL head coach Robbie Fleck (also a former Springbok centre) received a special award in recognition of his exceptional service to WP Rugby as both a player and a coach.

Meanwhile, former Springbok Women's player Aimee Barrett-Theron deservingly won the Referee of the Year award.

The main WPRFU prize winners are:

Most Valuable Player: Dillyn Leyds

DHL Players' Player: Herschel Jantjies

DHL Best Forward: Pieter-Steph du Toit

DHL Best Back: Herschel Jantjies

Referee of the Year: Aimee Barrett-Theron