Ryohei Yamanaka who started against Ireland but was on the bench for the last match against Scotland, starts at full-back in place of William Tupou, who drops out of the 23.

SA-born second-row Wimpie van der Walt and winger Lomano Lemeki return to the bench alongside No 8 Amanaki Lelei Mafi, who is available for the first time since coming off injured against Ireland. Uwe Helu (lock) and Hendrik Tui (flanker) miss out.

Jiwon Koo starts at tight-head after coming off with a rib injury in the first half against Scotland.

"We've achieved the last eight but what we do from here is also important," said No 8 Kazuki Himeno.

"I was thinking of urging my team-mates to shift focus as one of the leaders in the team, but there wasn't even the need for that. They're all fired up for the South Africa game."


1. Keita Inagaki
2. Shota Horie
3. Jiwon Koo
4. Luke Thompson
5. James Moore
6. Michael Leitch (captain)
7. Lappies Labuschagne
8. Kazuki Himeno
9. Yutaka Nagare
10. Yu Tamura
11. Kenki Fukuoka
12. Ryoto Nakamura
13. Timothy Lafaele
14. Kotaro Matsushima
15. Ryohei Yamanaka
16. Atsushi Sakate
17. Isileli Nakajima
18. Asaeli Ai Valu
19. Wimpie van der Walt
20. Amanaki Lelei Mafi
21. Fumiaki Tanaka
22. Rikiya Matsuda
23. Lomano Lava Lemeki