De Bruin is a widely sought-after rugby brain and comes with a wealth of coaching experience having recently been the attack coach of the Springboks team as well as Head Coach of the Emirates Lions, from 2017 until earlier this year. He has also previously coached the Cell C Sharks, Tafel Lager Griquas and South Africa Under-21.

The 59-year-old officially started in his new role on Friday, 18 October, ahead of the Isuzu Southern Kings’ tour to Europe. He will be working closely with the coaching team of Robbie Kempson, Vuyo Zangqa and Braam van Straaten.

“We are excited to have Swys de Bruin joining the Isuzu Southern Kings as a coaching consultant,” Isuzu Southern Kings Chairman, Loyiso Dotwana, confirmed.

“Swys is one of the most respected and sought-after coaches in South Africa. His vast knowledge of the game and international experience will be of great value to our team.

“We are also confident that his input and contribution will be beneficial to our coaching team and the playing personnel. Swys’ philosophy is known to be that of producing attractive rugby which is in line with what we are set on achieving at the Isuzu Southern Kings.”

The Isuzu Southern Kings are in their final preparations for the first tour of the 2019/20 Guinness PRO14 season and named their tour squad on Friday.

Following three opening matches at home at the Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium, the team will now travel to Italy, Scotland and Wales over the next three weeks where they will take on Benetton (Stadio Manigo, October 26), Glasgow Warriors (Scotstoun Stadium, November 1) and Ospreys (Liberty Stadium, November 9).

A 26-man playing squad will travel early next week for Treviso, Italy. The team will then be joined by scrumhalf, Stefan Ungerer, on the second leg of the tour in Glasgow, Scotland.

The Isuzu Southern Kings’ 27-man touring squad is:

Forwards: Alandre van Rooyen, Alulutho Tshakweni, Aston Fortuin, Bobby de Wee, Elrigh Louw, Jacques du Toit, JC Astle, Jerry Sexton, Juan Schoeman, Lusanda Badiyana, Pieter Scholtz, Rossouw de Klerk, Ruaan Lerm, Thembelani Bholi, Tienie Burger.

Backs: Christopher Hollis, Demetri Catrakilis, Erich Cronje, Gavin Mills, Josh Allderman, Josiah Twum-Boafo, JT Jackson, Masixole Banda, Sibusiso Sithole, Siya Masuku, Stefan Ungerer, Tertius Kruger.