The Springboks’ first Test match against Canada, also known as the Canucks, was during the Rugby World Cup in South Africa in 1995. The Springboks won the match at the Boet Erasmus Stadium in Port Elizabeth 20-0.

Five years later, the second Test between the two teams took place at Waverley Park in East London when the Springboks were again the victors, the score 51-18.

The Test match on Tuesday will feature only one Springbok who played in the Test in East London, but this time as the director of rugby of SA Rugby, Rassie Erasmus.

The complete South African record against Canada is as follows:

Played 2, Won 2, Points for 71, Points against 10, Tries for 10, Tries against 2, Win % 100%

Individual match records against Canada are:

  • Most points in a Test match: 11 (4c, 1p) by Braam van Straaten on 10 June 2000 in East London.
  • Most tries in a Test match: 2 each by Adriaan Richter on 3 June 1995 in Port Elizabeth and both of Breyton Paulse and Robbie Fleck on 10 June, 2000 in East London.
  • Most conversions in a Test match: 4 by Braam van Straaten on 10 June, 2000 in East London.


  • The total test caps for the Springbok starting line-up is 396.
  • There are 177 caps in the backline with 219 caps amongst the forwards. On the bench there are a further 349 caps.
  • The average caps per player in the backline is 25, the forwards 27 while the players on the bench average 44.
  • The average age of the starting fifteen is 27.

Record watch

  • Handré Pollard is the Springbok record holder for most penalty goals (26) in RWC tournaments.
  • He is now also the new record holder for a Springbok with most points (115) in RWC tournaments.
  • He surpassed the record of Percy Montgomery (111) in the Test against Italy on Friday.

Match officials

  • The referee is Luke Pearce of England. This will be his 25th Test match as a referee. He has officiated in only two of those Test matches of which one match was won and one lost.
  • The Assistant referees are Angus Gardner of Australia and Andrew Brace of Ireland while Rowan Kitt from England, will be the TMO.