The match, which will be played as a curtain-raiser to the Currie Cup final at the Toyota Stadium in Bloemfontein on Saturday, will kick off at 13h45.

Log-leaders, the Vodacom Blue Bulls, pipped the Cell C Sharks 42-41 in Pretoria, while DHL Western Province registered a comprehensive 52-10 victory against Toyota Free State in Cape Town to book their places in the final.

A fine kicking display by Vodacom Blue Bulls flyhalf Theo Boshoff allowed his team to survive a determined second-half fightback from the Cell C Sharks at Loftus Versfeld, where they edged through for a one-point win.

The home side built up an encouraging 23-12 halftime lead, but they faced a heavy onslaught in a gripping second half, which saw the Cell C Sharks outscore the Vodacom Blue Bulls six tries to five in the end – with three of the KwaZulu-Natalians’ tries being scored by Junior Springbok winger Caleb Dingaan.

Boshoff’s four conversions, two penalty goals and drop goal, however, proved vital in keeping them ahead on the scoreboard.

In stark contrast, DHL Western Province made easy work of their semi-final against Toyota Free State as they cruised to a 52-10 victory in Cape Town after entering the break 21-10 ahead. The hosts’ fine attack saw them cross the tryline seven times, while their effective defence limited the Free Stater’s to only one.

DHL Western Province hooker Schalk Erasmus and Prince Orderson (flanker) contributed two tries each, while their Junior Springbok flyhalf David Coetzer scored a try and slotted over five conversions in an impressive display. 

SA Rugby U21 Championship semi-final results:

Vodacom Blue Bulls 42 (23) Cell C Sharks 41 (12)

Vodacom Blue Bulls – Tries: Kudzwai Dube, Werner Fourie, Sabastian Jobb, Sango Xamlashe, Richard Kriel. Conversions: Theo Boshoff (4). Penalty goals: Boshoff (2). Drop goal: Boshoff.

Cell C Sharks – Tries: Adam Mountfort, Evan Roos, Caleb Dingaan (3), Asanda Kunene. Conversions: Jaden Hendrikse (4). Penalty goal: Hendrikse.

DHL Western Province 52 (21) Toyota Free State 10 (10)

DHL Western Province – Tries: Schalk Erasmus (2), Prince Orderson (2), David Coetzer, Daniel Jooste, Jessie Johnson. Conversions: Coetzer (5), Abner van Reenen (2). Drop goal: Van Reenen.

Toyota Free State – Try: Rewan Kruger. Conversion: James Mollentze. Penalty goal: Mollentze.