The Leopards, who are fielding a team in the competition for the first time, also laid an early marker by beating Griquas 36-30 at Olen Park in Potchefstroom. They were up 22-13 at the break.

The EP Elephants opened their campaign with a 53-20 win over Boland, scoring eight tries to three at Wolfson Stadium in Port Elizabeth. Three of those tries came from Curtley Deysel (wing), while Johan Lombaard (centre) scored one and converted five of their tries.

In all 28 tries were scored in the three matches played, showing that attacking play prevailed.

Results and scorers:

Limpopo Blue Bulls 30 (16), Phakisa Pumas 38 (18)

Limpopo Blue Bulls - Tries: Kevin Slow, Ronaldo Daniels, Zihan Coetzee. Conversations: Daniels (3). Penalties: Daniels (3).

Phakisa Pumas - Tries: Calvin Clack, Darryl Wellman, Dumisani Hlungwane, Waldo Snyman. Conversions: Riekert Barnard (3). Penalties: Barnard (4).


Leopards 36 (22), Tafel Lager Griquas 30 (13)

Leopards - Tries: Gerald Pulane, Philip John, Naiden Jaarts, Anelka Barends, Ricardo Liebenberg, Meyer Kriel. Conversions: Zian de Jager (2), Zinedine Robinson.

Tafel Lager Griquas - Tries: Hanco van Abo, Rizaa Collins, Payi Sooi, Chandre Ludick. Conversions: Zielie Robertson. Penalties: Robertson (2).


EP Elephants 53 (22), Boland 20 (8)

EP Elephants - Tries: Bevan Prinsloo, Curtley Deysel (3), Johan Lombaard, Lennox Holster, Ruan Jonker. Conversions: Lombaard (5). Penalty: Lombaard.

Boland - Tries: Xavier Lesch, Marco Jones, Maxwill van Louw. Conversion: Lloyd April. Penalty: Maxwell Klaasen.