The Vodacom Blue Bulls were in sublime form against the Xerox Golden Lions in Pretoria, touching down an impressive nine times for a memorable 59-5 victory against their Gauteng neighbours.

A solid first-half showing by the home side saw them take an encouraging 21-0 lead going into the break and they stepped up the tempo in the second half and made the most of their try-scoring chances to dominate proceedings completely.

Vodacom Blue Bulls U21 Wian van Niekerk scored a brace, with eight players in total crossing the tryline, while Theo Boshoff (flyhalf) also made a valuable contribution with a try and six conversions to keep the scoreboard ticking.

A fantastic display by Cell C Sharks flyhalf Adam Mountfort, meanwhile, steered the team to a 36-22 victory over DHL Western Province, with his fine form seeing him score a try, two conversions, three penalty goals and a drop goal for a personal total of 21 points.

The KwaZulu-Natalians dominated the first half, building up a 20-10 lead, and they continued to stamp their authority as the match progressed. Junior Springboks Jaden Hendrikse (scrumhalf) and Thaakir Abrahams (fullback) added the teams other two tries, while Hendrikse also kicked a conversion and penalty goal.

A four-try romp by Toyota Free State fullback Cohen Jasper paved the way for their first victory of the season, and it was a rewarding one too as they defeated the Leopards 45-18 in Potchefstroom.

Their classy attack earned them seven tries, and they supported this with a good defensive effort, which limited the hosts to two tries by Heinrich Botha (fullback).

SA Rugby U21 Championship Round Three results:

Cell C Sharks 36 DHL Western Province 22

Cell C Sharks 36 (20) – Tries: Adam Mountfort, Thaakir Abrahams, Jaden Hendrikse. Conversions: Adam Mountfort (2), Jaden Hendrikse. Penalty Goals: Adam Mountfort (3), Jaden Hendrikse. Drop Goal: Adam Mountfort.

DHL Western Province 22 (10) - Tries: Schalk Erasmus, Quan Eymann (2), Angelo Davids. Conversion: Abner van Reenen.


Leopards 18 Toyota Free State 45

Leopards 18 (6) - Tries: Heinrich Botha (2). Conversion: Janlu Steenkamp. Penalty Goals: Andre van der Berg (2).

Toyota Free State 45 (26) - Tries: Lubabalo Dobela, Philppus Johannes Krugell, Cohen Enrique Jasper (4), Ruhann Greyling. Conversions: Lubabalo Dobela (3), Gustav Meyer (2).


Vodacom Blue Bulls 59 Xerox Golden Lions 5

Vodacom Blue Bulls 59 (21) - Tries: Dewald Maritz, Werner Fourie, Mornay Smith, Theo Boshoff, Wian van Niekerk (2), Ewart Potgieter, Keagan Johannes, Cabous Eloff. Conversions: Theo Boshoff (6), Lionel April.

Xerox Golden Lions 5 (0) - Try: Dameon Venter.