The training camp will be held at the University of Pretoria’s High Performance Centre (HPC) from 9 to 15 June, which will be the second opportunity for Johannes to work with the players.

“We had a big group of very enthusiastic players at our first camp a few weeks ago and have now narrowed it down to only 32 players,” she said.

“We focused mainly on the basics at our first camp, with a little bit of structure, and will step it up to the next level in Pretoria. The girls are keen to show what they can do and there is also good competition within the squad, so we are looking to a productive week of training at the HPC.”

Johannes said the U20 team’s preparations had short-term and long-term benefits for the players: “The players know they are working toward a big goal with the matches against Zimbabwe a in under a month, but this opportunity is about more than that for them – they will feed into the senior national side in the next few years, and this provides an opportunity to further develop as players.”

The SA U20 Women’s squad will face Zimbabwe in Harare on Wednesday 26 and Saturday 29 June, in what will be the first Women’s U20 internationals in six years. The last time the SA Women’s U20 team faced international competition, was in the Nations Cup in 2013 against England, USA and Canada in London.

The SA Under-20 Women’s training squad:

Lerato Makua, Sune Pawson (both Blue Bulls), Anelca Hess, Keisha Stuurman (both Boland), Chumisa Qawe, Chuma Qawe, Nqatysiwa Lafutha, Owethu Nayiphi, Mihlali Mgweba, Andisiwe Magazi, Sethu Mavela (all Border), Sibabalwe Klaas, Amahle Nyoba, Phelisa Mrwebi, Sanelisiwe Charlie (all Eastern Province), Ntabiseng Ncalane (Golden Lions), Nompumelelo Mathe, Tyler-Jane Coleman, Nonthando Majozi (all KwaZulu-Natal), Buhle Mrkabalala (Leopards), Anastacia Mashiane (Limpopo), Edwaline Dickson (SWD), Roseline Botes, Donelle Snyders, Aneliswe Mxabo, Shoneez Sabatini, Gaamiela Josephs, Leandi Smith, Shaunique Hess, Kyle-Lee Hendricks, Kimberley Horlin and Alizwa Ganyathi (all Western Province).