In the two changes upfront, Thomas du Toit (prop) comes in for Coenie Oosthuizen, while Jean-Luc du Preez (flank) replaces Jacques Vermeulen. 

The back division sees a start for Cameron Wright, who rotates places with regular scrumhalf and skipper Louis Schreuder, now playing off the bench. 

Wright forms a new half-back partnership with Bosch, who starts at flyhalf as a result of Robert du Preez (junior) moving to the reserves. Makazole Mapimpi comes in for Lwazi Mvovo on the wing and Lukhanyo Am replaces Kobus van Wyk in the midfield.

South Africa’s most-capped Vodacom Super Rugby player, Tendai Mtawarira, will captain the Durbanites in this match.

Following a good victory over the Rebels last weekend, the Waratahs have named a relatively unchanged side with Curtis Rona to start on the wing.

What they said:

Cell C Sharks head coach Robert du Preez explained the changes to his side: “The plan was to rotate and make changes and we need to make sure that everyone is engaged on this tour. There are a few players in our squad who have played a lot of games and we have been resting some in the last few weeks. We have a very strong playing 23 with a really solid bench and we’re looking forward to a strong showing against the Waratahs.”


15 Kurtley Beale, 14 Cam Clark, 13 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 12 Karmichael Hunt, 11 Curtis Rona, 10 Bernard Foley, 9 Jake Gordon, 8 Michael Wells, 7 Michael Hooper (captain), 6 Jack Dempsey, 5 Rob Simmons, 4 Jed Holloway, 3 Sekope Kepu, 2 Damien Fitzpatrick, 1 Harry Johnson-Holmes. Replacements: 16 Tolu Latu, 17 Rory O’Connor, 18 Chris Talakai, 19 Tom Staniforth, 20 Lachlan Swinton 21 Nick Phipps, 22 Lalakai Foketi, 23 Alex Newsome.

Cell C Sharks: 15 Aphelele Fassi, 14 Sbu Nkosi, 13 Lukhanyo Am, 12 Andre Esterhuizen, 11 Makazole Mapimpi, 10 Curwin Bosch, 9 Cameron Wright, 8 Daniel du Preez, 7 Jean-Luc du Preez, 6 Philip van der Walt, 5 Hyron Andrews, 4 Ruben van Heerden, 3 Thomas du Toit, 2 Kerron van Vuuren, 1 Tendai Mtawarira (captain). Replacements: 16 Akker van der Merwe, 17 Mzamo Majola, 18 Coenie Oosthuizen, 19 Ruan Botha, 20 Jacques Vermeulen, 21 Louis Schreuder, 22 Robert du Preez, 23 Marius Louw.

Head to head:
Played: 22
Waratahs won: 12
Cell C Sharks won: 8
Waratahs points: 574
Cell C Sharks points: 493
Average score: 26-22

Match information:
Date: Saturday, 27 April 
SA time: 11h45
Venue: Bankwest Stadium, Sydney
Referee: Nic Berry
Assistant referees: Damon Murphy, Amy Perrett
Television Match Official: George Ayoub
TV: SuperSport1

Other Round 11 fixtures (SA times):

Friday, 26 April 
12h00: Sunwolves vs Highlanders, Prince Chichibu Memorial Stadium, Tokyo

Saturday, 27 April
09h35: Hurricanes vs Chiefs, Westpac Stadium,Wellington
23h40: Jaguares vs Brumbies, Jose Amalfitani Stadium, Buenos Aires

Byes: Blues, Rebels, Reds